Independent public-opinion data2026 election cycle / Public beta
CAMPAIGN GUIDE · NEW ZEALAND 2026

Compare the parties.

See the proposals, follow the funding and read the evidence.

7 parties67 selected policy summariesChecked

Proposals and forecasts are party claims. Our checks trace the sources and arithmetic; coalition agreements may change delivery.

Reset
START WITH AN ISSUE

See the choices together.

All reviewed issues

Selected proposals across the reviewed issues.

12 summaries · 1 party

Labour

12 summaries
Living costs & tax

A weekly cap on public transport fares

Cap weekly public transport fares at $20 in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch, and $10 elsewhere.

2026 election policyParty source
Our assessment & details

Our assessment

Analysis
Strengths
  • A specific weekly cap and start date make eligibility understandable; automatic tracking would avoid a separate application for frequent users.Evidence
Trade-offs & risks
  • The cap redirects 1% of existing transport funding; users spending below the cap get no cap-related saving.Evidence 1Evidence 2
Open questions
  • The reviewed pages give no dollar costing or breakdown of transport spending reprioritised, including how rising demand would be funded.Evidence 1Evidence 2

Party proposal

Labour proposes a $20 weekly fare cap in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch, and $10 elsewhere. Once a person reaches the cap, further covered trips that week would be free.

Who it covers
Bus and train users nationwide, plus some ferries in the three main centres. Scenic and interregional trains, commercial interregional transport and other ferries are excluded.
Timing
In place by 1 July 2027.
Cost & funding stated by the party
Labour’s fiscal plan identifies the National Land Transport Fund: it would reprioritise 1% of the fund for the fare cap. The reviewed fare-cap page does not give a total dollar cost.
Sources reviewed
Labour: public transport fare cap Policy page · Publication date not stated
Labour: Fiscal Plan 2026 Policy page · Publication date not stated
Living costs & tax

A targeted tax on property-sale gains

Tax future gains on investment and commercial property sales, with the family home and other specified assets exempt.

2026 election policyParty source
Our assessment & details

Our assessment

Analysis
Strengths
  • A defined start date and sale-based payment avoid taxing gains before July 2027; the family home and specified business reinvestment are exempt.Evidence
Trade-offs & risks
  • Sellers of covered investment and commercial properties would lose 28% of taxable gains; a starting valuation is also required.Evidence
Open questions
  • Health funding relies on future sale receipts. How resilient is the $2.8bn estimate to different transaction volumes, gains and implementation?Evidence 1Evidence 2

Party proposal

Labour proposes a 28% tax on gains made after 1 July 2027 when residential investment or commercial property is sold. Its policy exempts the family home, farms, KiwiSaver, shares, business assets, inheritances and personal items.

Who it covers
People selling covered property for a taxable gain. The page also provides an exemption when a small business sells its premises to buy larger premises.
Timing
Only gains accruing after 1 July 2027, with tax payable on sale.
Cost & funding stated by the party
Labour says all revenue would go to health. Its fiscal plan forecasts $2.8 billion of capital-gains-tax revenue across 2027/28–2030/31; this is a party estimate of future receipts, not a guaranteed amount.

The revenue estimate is from the party’s Fiscal Plan 2026 table, reviewed in the fiscal-plans section below. Transaction volumes, realised gains and implementation affect receipts.

Sources reviewed
Labour: property capital gains tax Policy page · Publication date not stated
Health

Three free primary-care visits a year

Provide three free doctor or nurse appointments each year at a person’s enrolled general practice.

2026 election policyParty source
Our assessment & details

Our assessment

Analysis
Strengths
  • A defined three-visit entitlement could reduce consultation costs, with phone triage outside the allowance and provision for non-digital users.Evidence 1Evidence 2
Trade-offs & risks
  • The entitlement stops at three covered visits; additional appointments, after-hours care and ACC visits may still carry charges.Evidence 1Evidence 2
Open questions
  • Reconcile the standalone and fiscal-plan cost lines, and show whether proposed capacity gains can meet demand for free appointments.Evidence 1Evidence 2Evidence 3

Party proposal

Labour proposes a Medicard providing three free doctor or nurse appointments each year at a person’s enrolled general practice. Clinical phone triage would not use up the allowance; unused visits would not carry into the following year.

Who it covers
People eligible for healthcare and enrolled at a practice. Already-free services, after-hours care and ACC visits are outside the three-visit allowance.
Timing
The page describes the full entitlement from July 2028, with programme spending starting in 2027/28.
Cost & funding stated by the party
Labour publishes $393.3 million for 2027/28, $553 million annually in 2028/29 and 2029/30, and $548 million in later years. It proposes funding the plan through its targeted property capital gains tax.

The standalone paper’s free-doctor line is $323m/$490m/$490m/$490m; the fiscal plan’s line is $297.8m/$464.8m/$483.6m/$503.1m. The different scope or assumptions need explanation; this does not establish an error or unfunded programme.

Sources reviewed
Labour: Medicard and general-practice plan Policy page · Publication date not stated
Labour: standalone Medicard paper Policy paper · Publication date not stated
Housing

Restart social housing construction

Restart Kāinga Ora construction and give community housing providers more predictable funding and a borrowing guarantee.

2026 election policyParty source
Our assessment & details

Our assessment

Analysis
Strengths
  • A quantified 6,000-home commitment, capital allocation and support for community providers give a clearer basis for tracking construction.Evidence 1Evidence 2Evidence 3
Trade-offs & risks
  • The $2.9bn capital commitment uses future investment allowances; rental subsidies and provider borrowing also need ongoing support.Evidence 1Evidence 2Evidence 3
Open questions
  • Reconcile the $745m announcement with fiscal-table housing lines, and publish completion dates, locations and provider-guarantee exposure.Evidence 1Evidence 2Evidence 3

Party proposal

Labour would restart Kāinga Ora construction; its fiscal table identifies 6,000 state houses. Community housing providers would receive more predictable funding and a government borrowing guarantee.

Who it covers
People needing social housing, community housing providers and construction workers. The 6,000-state-house figure comes from the fiscal table, rather than the shorter web announcement.
Timing
Start within a year of taking office; the official fiscal summary spreads Kāinga Ora capital across four years. No exact completion date for all homes is given.
Cost & funding stated by the party
The announcement gives $2.9bn capital and $745m operating support; the fiscal table separately shows $760m IRRS and other housing adjustments. That source difference is not reconciled. These are not annual programme costs.
Sources reviewed
Labour: Start Work Now — housing allocation Policy page · Publication date not stated
Labour: fiscal summary and capital period Policy page · Publication date not stated
Energy & climate

Finance and subsidies for household solar

Offer repayable solar finance, grants for eligible households, renter options and community batteries.

2026 election policyParty source
Our assessment & details

Our assessment

Analysis
Strengths
  • Finance, grants, renter options and community batteries address different upfront-cost barriers; the $160m package identifies its funding source.Evidence
Trade-offs & risks
  • Household loans remain repayable, and funding is moved from gas-security provision to solar support, changing the use of that money.Evidence
Open questions
  • Exact income thresholds, loan rates and terms, and the assumptions behind repayments staying below each household’s savings need detail.Evidence

Party proposal

Labour proposes government-backed solar finance, grants of up to $3,000 for eligible households, rules enabling plug-in solar for renters and a community battery fund. The loans would be repaid over time rather than making the equipment free.

Who it covers
Homeowners, renters and communities. The kickstart grants are for lower- and middle-income households; the page does not give exact income thresholds.
Timing
Advice, subsidies and the two loan schemes operating within 12 months of taking office.
Cost & funding stated by the party
Labour publishes $160 million over four years, repurposed from the Gas Security of Supply fund. This includes $77 million for household subsidies and $30 million for community batteries.
Sources reviewed
Labour: SolarSaver Policy page · Publication date not stated
Education

Cheaper uniforms, school lunches and rural buses

Limit compulsory branded uniforms, bring back fresh local school lunches, and restore cancelled rural school bus routes where possible.

2026 election policyParty source
Our assessment & details

Our assessment

Analysis
Strengths
  • Generic uniform options and locally prepared lunches could reduce school-day costs for affected families, rather than providing a general cash payment.Evidence
Trade-offs & risks
  • Restoring routes depends on practical local alternatives; lunch delivery also needs suppliers and school capacity.Evidence
Open questions
  • Clarify lunch coverage and reconcile the Term 1 2028 start with the fiscal table’s later first allocation.Evidence 1Evidence 2

Party proposal

Labour proposes limits on compulsory branded uniform items and cheaper generic alternatives, locally made school lunches funded at $5 per meal ($6.50 for Years 9–13), and restoring cancelled rural school bus routes where possible.

Who it covers
School families, participating school-lunch students and affected rural communities. The page does not promise every rural route can be restored.
Timing
Uniform changes and fresh school lunches from Term 1 2028. No fixed date for rural bus restoration is given.
Cost & funding stated by the party
The fiscal PDF lists $590.8m for school lunches in 2028/29–2030/31. Its first allocation is later than the web page’s Term 1 2028 start; scope and timing need reconciliation. Separate uniform and rural-bus amounts were not identified in that table.

The fare cap is covered separately under Living costs & tax. A timing or source-edition difference does not establish an unfunded programme.

Sources reviewed
Labour: Cutting Back-to-School Costs Policy page · Publication date not stated
Education

Cut qualifying student debt by 10%

Cut eligible graduate loans by 10%, with a three-year New Zealand residence route for current and future students and exclusions for Fees Free recipients.

2026 election policyParty source
Our assessment & details

Our assessment

Analysis
Strengths
  • Debt reductions could bring eligible borrowers’ final repayment date forward, rather than reducing every current repayment; income-based repayments remain available.Evidence
Trade-offs & risks
  • Fees Free recipients are excluded, and future graduates must wait three years; relief is not universal or immediate.Evidence
Open questions
  • Publish take-up and residence assumptions, and show how initial write-offs and later annual costs fit together.Evidence 1Evidence 2

Party proposal

Labour would reduce qualifying graduates’ outstanding student loans by 10%. Existing graduates qualify on 1 April 2027; current and future students qualify after three years based in New Zealand following study. Balances of $2,000 or less would be cleared under that three-year route.

Who it covers
New Zealand-based borrowers who have finished study, meet their loan obligations and did not receive Fees Free. Repayments remain income-based.
Timing
Existing eligible graduates: 1 April 2027. Labour expects the first three-year-route reductions in 2031.
Cost & funding stated by the party
The fiscal plan sets aside $420m capital for the initial write-off and $163.1m operating over 2026/27–2030/31. The policy estimates nearly $40m annually once fully running from 2031; costs use loan fair value rather than the face value owed.
Sources reviewed
Labour: Cutting Student Debt Policy page · Publication date not stated
Work & business

Expand apprenticeship support

Extend employer apprenticeship payments to two years, add a $1,000 starter grant and broaden eligible training with a mentoring pilot.

2026 election policyParty source
Our assessment & details

Our assessment

Analysis
Strengths
  • Starter grants and longer employer support could reduce entry costs and help apprentices complete training.Evidence
Trade-offs & risks
  • Subsidies still require employers able to offer work; payments do not by themselves create lasting job demand.Evidence
Open questions
  • Specify mentoring coverage and completion measures, and test how many supported apprenticeships would be additional to those taken on without a subsidy.Evidence 1Evidence 2

Party proposal

Labour proposes $500 monthly employer payments for two years, a $1,000 starter toolbox grant, five additional training areas and a mentoring pilot. New areas include road construction, water and sanitary engineering, personal services, sales and marketing, and sports and recreation.

Who it covers
Employers and apprentices in accredited programmes, with expanded eligibility. Grants cover starting tools, kit, uniforms and course materials.
Timing
New areas, grant and mentoring pilot: 1 July 2027. Two-year employer payments: 1 July 2028.
Cost & funding stated by the party
The fiscal plan allocates $21m/$64m/$69.5m/$71.5m in 2027/28–2030/31: $226m total, or $56.5m annually on average. It is funded within Labour’s Budget allowances.
Sources reviewed
Labour: Apprenticeship Boost Expansion Policy page · Publication date not stated
Work & business

Restore pay equity and lift care workers’ pay

Restore the pay-equity claims process and give care and support workers a $4 hourly rise; other settlements would remain negotiated.

2026 election policyParty source
Our assessment & details

Our assessment

Analysis
Strengths
  • The immediate care/support rise has a defined amount, start date and separate fiscal provision for the named worker group.Evidence 1Evidence 2
Trade-offs & risks
  • Later negotiated settlements would add Budget pressure; the immediate rise does not settle every pay-equity claim.Evidence
Open questions
  • Explain how future settlement costs will be prioritised alongside other service pressures and Budget limits.Evidence 1Evidence 2

Party proposal

Labour would restore pay-equity legislation within its first 100 days and recognise previous claim work. Care and support workers would receive an immediate $4 hourly increase; other settlements would follow negotiation.

Who it covers
An estimated 65,000 care and support workers receive the immediate increase. Other pay-equity claimants would use the restored process rather than an automatic immediate settlement.
Timing
Care/support increase: 1 January 2027. Legislation: first 100 days. Future settlement dates depend on negotiations.
Cost & funding stated by the party
The fiscal table costs the immediate rise at $279m in 2026/27 and $558m each year from 2027/28–2030/31: $2.511bn total. Labour says later negotiated settlements would be funded through future Budgets; those amounts are not quantified here.
Sources reviewed
Labour: Pay Equity Policy page · Publication date not stated
Work & business

Faster payments and support for small firms

Require faster payments, allow earlier asset deductions, lift the GST threshold and give small firms a larger share of government work.

2026 election policyParty source
Our assessment & details

Our assessment

Analysis
Strengths
  • Faster payments and earlier deductions could improve small firms’ cash flow; smaller tender lots could improve access to government work.Evidence 1Evidence 2
Trade-offs & risks
  • The asset deduction changes tax timing rather than paying the asset’s full cost. Refocusing Investment Boost changes who receives investment support.Evidence
Open questions
  • Set out enforcement resources, procurement value-for-money safeguards and how the 15% target is measured.Evidence 1Evidence 2

Party proposal

Labour proposes a 15-day payment rule for large firms’ small-supplier invoices, a $10,000 immediate asset deduction and an $80,000 GST-registration threshold. Its separate Small Business First plan targets 15% of government contracts for local small firms and start-ups, with smaller tender lots and simpler information requirements.

Who it covers
Small firms: asset deduction for annual revenue below $10m; payment rule for invoices up to $25,000. Large payer tests and voluntary GST registration apply.
Timing
Payment legislation: first 100 days. Asset deduction: 1 July 2027. GST threshold: 1 July 2028. No exact procurement-target start date is stated.
Cost & funding stated by the party
The fiscal table allocates $1.354bn to the asset deduction and $210m to the GST change over 2027/28–2030/31 ($1.564bn combined), funded by refocusing Investment Boost. The policy page rounds the package to $1.56bn and gives $1.355bn for the asset deduction.

The asset write-off is a deduction from taxable income, not a dollar-for-dollar tax credit. The $1m difference between source editions does not establish a material funding shortfall.

Sources reviewed
Labour: Small Business Action Plan Policy page · Publication date not stated
Labour: Small Business First Policy page · Publication date not stated
Democracy & Te Tiriti

An independent Parliamentary Budget Office

Establish an independent Parliamentary Budget Office to scrutinise government finances and parties’ election policy costings.

2026 election policyParty source
Our assessment & details

Our assessment

Analysis
Strengths
  • Consistent independent costings could help voters compare fiscal promises using the same published methods, and the plan includes a defined operating allocation.Evidence 1Evidence 2
Trade-offs & risks
  • The office requires ongoing public funding and access to information; its value depends on operational independence and credible methods.Evidence 1Evidence 2
Open questions
  • Specify appointment safeguards, data-access powers and the publication timetable before the next election.Evidence

Party proposal

Labour proposes a Parliamentary Budget Office to independently examine government finances and cost parties’ election commitments on a consistent basis, giving voters information about fiscal trade-offs.

Who it covers
Voters, Parliament and political parties using or scrutinising independent costings.
Timing
The fiscal plan allocates operating funding from 2028/29. The policy does not specify the exact establishment date or whether every service would start then.
Cost & funding stated by the party
The fiscal table provides $3.5m annually in 2028/29–2030/31: $10.5m total, within Labour’s operating allowances.
Sources reviewed
Labour: fiscal strategy — transparency Policy page · Publication date not stated
Labour: fiscal strategy announcement Announcement · Published
Work & business

Māori-led training linked to local jobs

Fund Māori-led training with local employers, recognised qualifications and mentoring, open to Māori of all ages seeking better employment.

2026 election policyParty source
Our assessment & details

Our assessment

Analysis
Strengths
  • Provider-led training, mentoring and links to real employers could help participants gain recognised skills and sustain work in their communities.Evidence
Trade-offs & risks
  • Training still depends on employer demand and provider capacity; a funded place does not guarantee an additional long-term job.Evidence
Open questions
  • Identify the funding reprioritised, provider selection criteria and job-retention targets, then report whether supported outcomes exceed what would otherwise occur.Evidence 1Evidence 2

Party proposal

Labour proposes a contestable fund for Māori providers, including marae and iwi trusts, to deliver employment-focused training linked to local employers and recognised qualifications. Programmes would combine practical skills with mentoring and support to complete training and remain in work.

Who it covers
Māori of all ages seeking a first job, retraining or more secure work; Māori providers would apply to deliver programmes shaped around local skills needs.
Timing
As soon as possible after Budget 2027; no exact commencement day is given.
Cost & funding stated by the party
The policy specifies $21m annually through reprioritisation and existing baselines in Budget 2027. The fiscal table separately includes $21m in each of 2027/28–2030/31: $84m over four years. This is separate from Apprenticeship Boost.
Sources reviewed
Labour: Backing Māori into Skilled Work Policy page · Publication date not stated

Selected coverage, not a ranking of policy quality. How we review the sources

Back to guide navigation ↑